History


Independent since its founding in 1927, Burma has grown over the years thanks to a strong style and image, together with a reputation linked to the loyalty of its international clientele. Faithful to the creativity and quality of the Maison’s creations, they are joyful and free-spirited, living their lives and travelling the world with Burma jewels.

  • 1927

    1927


    The year, Maison Burma was founded. Paris dances through the Roaring Twenties to the rhythm of jazz and the charleston. Gaston Doumergue inaugurates Boulevard Haussmann. Josephine Baker has started appearing at the Folies Bergères, with her Revue Nègre. At the heart of theater district, Burma offers a style adjusted to the new modern woman, who is emancipated and a little untamed.

    Burma attracts a cosmopolitan clientele able to pick from a wide variety of pieces in the two Parisian boutiques, one at 8 boulevard des Capucines and another at 16, rue de la Paix, closed to the Opéra.

    A Burma jewel “rivals real jewels without any difficulty”.

    Burma launches the “Burmor", an alloy that is exclusive to the Maison.

  • 1933

    1933


    “A high-class jewel for individuals of all social extractions”.
    Burma, which employs the painter Jean-Gabriel Domergue for its catalogue, features in the theatre programmes of the Ambassadeurs, Bouffes Parisiens, Théâtre Antoine and Théâtre de l'Athénée.

    “Don’t hesitate to offer any elegant lady the bracelet which will highlight the appeal of her personality".

  • 1936

    1936


    Burma adorns Josephine Baker for her Super Folies revue at the Folies Bergères. A little more than ten years after the scandalous Revue Nègre, the return of the Ebony Venus to the stage after her tour of the United States marks an important date in the history of this Parisian establishment.

  • 1938

    1938


    Whether they are Mistinguett, Josephine Baker, Michèle Morgan or Jeanne Moreau, the stars have always had close links with Burma. The sparkle of Burma jewels is synonymous with being eye-catching, noticeable; with absolute light.
    “A woman is always seductive when she wears a Burma jewel”. Michèle Morgan
    “Burma jewels are astounding. Their perfect execution makes them easy to mistake for real jewels”. Mistinguett

    "A woman is always seductive when she wears a Burma jewel…" Michèle Morgan.

    "Burma jewels are prodigious. Their perfect execution makes them strikingly akin to real gems..." Mistinguett.

  • 1950

    1950


    The uncontested specialist when it comes to cultured and synthetic pearls, Burma continues to develop its know-how.

    This year, a collage by René Gruau, the “fashion sketcher” who works for the leading fashion brands, immortalises the style and elegance of Burma.

  • 1955 1955

    1955


    The famous British fashion photographer Cecil Beaton gives Burma jewels pride of place in Vogue with a series of portrait photographs that are subsequently used by the brand.

  • 1957 1957

    1957


    Burma pearls soon become indispensable complements to the suit and little black dress placed on a pedestal by Parisian haute couture… Each Burma boutique soon has two workers to string pearl necklaces by hand.

  • 1960

    1960


    Burma fine-tunes its skills in choosing and using materials and starts working with precious metals like gold and silver with the expertise and know-how of the best craftsmen jewellers. Burma innovates with the introduction of zircon which, once treated, looks like diamond.

    In 1963, Burma Champs-Elysées commissions the replica of the sumptuous necklace made for Marie-Antoinette and donates it to the Château de Versailles Museum.

  • 1976

    1976


    Introduction of Burmalite™ by Burma: this is a fascinating synthetic gem cut by the finest gem cutters, and whose astonishing sparkle stands out as a signature. An exclusive collection of replicas of Tutankhamen’s jewels is presented at the Louvre, and the vermeil settings continue to increase the Maison’s notoriety.

  • 1980

    1980


    The 1980s mark the expansion in the network of Burma outlets, coinciding with increasing international fame. The creation of unique sets in silver or vermeil and Burmalites™ strengthens the maison’s image. From daffodil yellow to tourmaline pink, and aquamarine blue to peridot green, Burmalites™ triumph in a range synonymous with sparkle and excellence.
    In 1989, Burma is awarded the “Stratégies de la Communication“ prize and sponsors the first Biennale du Bijou at the Hôtel de Sens in Paris.

  • 1991

    1991


    A shareholder in the family-run group, Bruno Zarcate takes over control of Burma after becoming its managing director in 1987. His ambition is to combine know-how and creativity with the new stylistic challenges that will give the brand a new international impetus. He turns to a talented designer who works for the jewellers of place Vendôme.

  • 2005 2005

    2005


    The first ad campaign, shot by Paolo Roversi for Burma with art director Nicole Wisniak, the head of the cult magazine Egoïste.

    This year sees the first advertising campaign by Paolo Roversi for Burma, under the artistic direction of Nicole Wisniak, editor of the cult magazine Egoïste.
    The first issue of Egoïste appeared in 1977. The most influential photographers and writers of the time, from Helmut Newton to Richard Avedon, and Françoise Sagan to Jean d’Ormesson, have featured in the 16 issues published to date. Famous for the prestige of its layout, its legendary images and made-to-measure advertisements designed and planned by Nicole Wisniak, each issue of Egoïste is collected by numerous followers.

  • 2012

    2012


    Alexandra Zarcate presents her “Alexandra pour Burma” collection. It constitutes a naturalist rock series revisiting the spirit of the Maison through ten silver and white Burmalite™ pieces, and combining a neo-classical aesthetic with the boldness of a generation seeking made-to-measure dreams.

  • 2013

    2013


    The firm turns to Atelier du Pont, directed by Anne-Cécile Comar, to design a new concept of boutique. The first outlet to undergo a metamorphosis is the historic boutique at 16, rue de la Paix 75002, followed in 2014 by the shop at 72, rue du Faubourg St Honoré, 75001.
    In a play of reflections and transparencies, a vast chainmail chandelier and elliptical display cabinets suspended in a subdued atmosphere underscore a bold setting that creates a fascinating, magnetic universe.

  • 2015

    2015


    While Burmalite™ and synthetic gems plus know-how in jewellery-making typify the world of Burma, this year sees the maison launch a new collection of unique items: Les Ephémères de Burma.
    Exclusively made of fine gems in a marvellous blend of amethysts, coloured sapphires, tourmalines, chrysoprases, prehnites or topazes, each of these creations offers a nuance of infinite colours to satisfy every desire!

  • 2016

    2016


    New creations under the “Alexandra pour Burma” label join those of the first collection launched in 2012. An incredible cuff bracelet interlaced with flowers, a sublime tiara and other head jewels reworking the soft yet sharp image of a flower that is so dear to Alexandra Zarcate, of the fourth generation of the family, who draws her inspiration from Baudelaire’s Fleurs du Mal.

Notre Histoire


Indépendante depuis sa création en 1927, Burma marque les décennies avec la force d’un style, une image forte et une notoriété liée à l’attachement des clients internationaux. Fidèles à la créativité et à la qualité des créations Maison, ils vivent et voyagent, le coeur en fête, l’esprit léger, avec des bijoux Burma.

  • 1927

    1927


    Date de la création de la Maison Burma. Au rythme du jazz et du charleston Paris vit à l’heure des années folles. Gaston Doumergue inaugure le Boulevard Haussmann. Joséphine Baker vient de se produire aux Folies Bergères, avec la revue Nègre. Au cœur du quartier des théâtres, Burma signe un style, en adéquation avec la nouvelle femme moderne, émancipée et trépidante.

    La Maison Burma attire une clientèle cosmopolite, riche de 10 000 références, dans les deux boutiques parisiennes, du 8, boulevard des Capucines et du
    16, rue de la Paix, près de l'Opéra.
    Un bijou Burma "rivalise sans peine avec les bijoux véritables".
    Burma lance notamment le "Burmor", un alliage exclusif de la Maison.

  • 1933

    1933


    "Un bijou de grande classe pour toutes les classes".

    Burma, qui fait appel au peintre Jean-Gabriel Domergue pour son catalogue, sera présent dans les livres des théâtres des Ambassadeurs, des Bouffes Parisiens, du Théâtre Antoine et du Théâtre de l'Athénée.

    "Offrez sans hésiter à toute femme élégante le bracelet qui rehausse l'éclat de sa personne".

  • 1936

    1936


    Burma pare Joséphine Baker pour sa revue Super Folies aux Folies Bergères. Un peu plus de dix ans après le scandale de la Revue Nègre, le retour sur scène de la Vénus d'Ebène après sa tournée aux Etats-Unis fixe une date importante dans l'histoire de cet établissement parisien.

  • 1938

    1938


    Qu’elles s’appellent Mistinguett, Joséphine Baker, Michèle Morgan ou Jeanne Moreau, les personnalités de la scène ont toujours eu des liens très soutenus avec la Maison Burma. L’éclat des bijoux Burma est synonyme de révélation, d’apparition, de lumière absolue.

    « Une femme est toujours séduisante quand elle porte un bijou Burma ».
    Michèle Morgan

    « Les bijoux Burma tiennent du prodige. Leur exécution parfaite les apparentent à s'y méprendre aux bijoux véritables ».
    Mistinguett

  • 1950

    1950


    Spécialiste incontesté de la perle de culture et de synthèse, Burma continue à développer son savoir-faire.
    Cette année-là, un collage de René Gruau, le “croqueur de mode” qui travaille pour les plus grands noms de la Couture, immortalise le style et l’élégance Burma.

  • 1955 1955

    1955


    Le célèbre photographe de mode britannique Cecil Beaton mettra les bijoux Burma à l'honneur dans le Vogue en réalisant une série de photos portraits qui seront ensuite utilisées par la marque.

  • 1957 1957

    1957


    Les perles de Burma vont bientôt s'imposer comme les compléments indispensables du tailleur et de la petite robe noire remise à l'honneur par la Haute Couture parisienne... Chacune des boutiques Burma dispose bientôt de deux ouvrières pour enfiler à la main des colliers de perles.

  • 1960

    1960


    Burma se perfectionne dans le choix et l’utilisation des matériaux et commence à travailler les métaux précieux, comme l’or et l’argent, avec l’expertise et le savoir-faire des meilleurs artisans joaillers. Burma innove avec l’introduction du Zircon, lequel, une fois traité, ressemble au diamant.

    En 1963, Burma Champs-Elysées fait réaliser la réplique du somptueux collier de la Reine Marie-Antoinette et l’offre au Musée du Château de Versailles.

  • 1976

    1976


    Introduction de la Burmalite™ par Burma, une fascinante pierre de synthèse taillée par les meilleurs lapidaires et dont l’éclat absolu s’impose comme une signature. Une collection exclusive de répliques de bijoux de Toutankhamon présentés au Louvre ainsi que des montages en vermeil continuent d’augmenter l’aura de la Maison.

  • 1980

    1980


    Les années quatre-vingt marquent le développement du réseau de points de vente Burma qui coïncide avec une notoriété croissante à l’international. La création de parures uniques en argent ou vermeil et Burmalite™ renforce l’image de la Maison. Du jonquille au rose tourmaline, du bleu aigue marine au vert péridot, la Burmalite™ triomphe dans un nuancier synonyme d’éclat et d’excellence.
    En 1989, Burma remporte le prix Stratégies de la Communication et sponsorise la première Biennale du Bijou à l’Hôtel de Sens à Paris.

  • 1991

    1991


    Actionnaire du groupe familial, Bruno Zarcate reprend le contrôle de Burma, après en avoir pris la direction en 1987. Son ambition est de lier le savoir-faire et la création, avec de nouveaux paris stylistiques qui vont donner à la griffe un nouvel élan international. Il fera appel à un designer talentueux travaillant notamment pour les joailliers de la place Vendôme.

  • 2005 2005

    2005


    Première campagne publicitaire signée Paolo Roversi pour Burma, sous la direction artistique de Nicole Wisniak, directrice du magazine culte l’Egoïste.

    En 1977 paraît le premier numéro du journal Egoïste. Les photographes et les écrivains les plus influents de leur époque, de Helmut Newton à Richard Avedon, de Françoise Sagan à Jean d'Ormesson, auront nourri les 16 numéros parus à ce jour. Célèbre pour le prestige de sa maquette, ses images mythiques et ses publicités sur-mesure réalisées et conçues par Nicole Wisniak, chaque numéro d'Egoïste est collectionné par de nombreux adeptes.

  • 2012

    2012


    Alexandra Zarcate présente sa collection « Alexandra pour Burma ». Une ligne rock naturaliste revisitant l’esprit de la Maison à travers dix pièces en argent et Burmalite™ blanche, combinant l’esthétisme néo-classique, et l’audace d’une génération en quête de rêves sur-mesure.

  • 2013

    2013


    La Maison fait appel à l’Atelier du Pont, dirigé par Anne-Cécile Comar pour imaginer un nouveau concept de boutique. La 1ère adresse à connaître cette métamorphose est la boutique historique du 16, rue de la Paix 75002, suivie en 2014 par la boutique du 72, rue du Faubourg St Honoré 75001.
    Dans un jeu de reflets et de transparences, vaste lustre en cotte de maille, vitrines elliptiques suspendues dans une ambiance feutrée signent une scénographie affirmée créant un univers fascinant et magnétique.

  • 2015

    2015


    Si la Burmalite™ ou gemme de synthèse associée au savoir-faire joailler sont la signature de la Maison, cette année, Burma signe une nouvelle collection de pièces uniques : Les Ephémères de Burma.
    Exclusivement composées de pierres fines où s’entremêlent merveilleusement améthystes, saphirs de couleur, tourmalines, chrysoprases, préhnites ou encore topazes… chacune de ces créations sont un nuancier de couleurs infini pour toutes les envies…

  • 2016

    2016


    De nouvelles créations signées « Alexandra pour Burma » rejoignent la première collection du même nom lancée en 2012. Une incroyable manchette entrelacée de fleurs, un sublime diadème, et autres bijoux de têtes, reprenant la Fleur à la fois douce et piquante si chère à Alexandra Zarcate, 4ème génération de la famille et inspirée par les Fleurs du Mal de Baudelaire.